I keep calling them back

they burst through my heart in to the open air
and I laugh in my sleep

when a few of them
stay back for some time
to whisper in my ears, I cry
and it’s not them that sooth me
nor the memories they tell me

it’s you

your scent I snuggle into deep
and they keep looking at me still,
never coming near me when I want them to

it’s them that I wave at
when you sing to me
and breastfeed me
and you would cry in happiness
and kiss me
with sounds like my own

I know they will leave me someday
when I am ready with my first word,
my first step
into your arms

©Malintha Perera 2015

 

P.S –  Something very different from to you 😉 enjoy

 

 

Leave a Reply

