it’s my distance that touches you
your hands have lost their bristles
to draw on my skin

the colours drip
and shatter like meteorites
dead stars
gaping holes

forgive me for not turning my head
and seeking your palms with my lips
for not leaning back in to your warmth
when you hug me tight from behind me

do you see that tree outside our door ?
how it has grown
out  of its space

let me wander
in to its bark
seep inside it’s green warmth

who knows ?
maybe you will reach me then
when you bite and taste
its buds and leaves

when you crush the petals
between your hands
it’s me you will find

smiling back at you then….

©Malintha Perera 2015

Leave a Reply

