That Giggle …

It was early morning.
I was in no man’s land
walking down it’s corridor.
I heard a giggle.
It was my youngest son sleeping next to me.
I groped for the switch near the bed
quickly turned on the light
waited, watching him.. holding my breath.
He giggled again..
He was sleeping on his side facing me.
It had been so long since I last saw this.
He wasn’t a baby anymore
and I wanted to see this again so badly.
I saw his lips parting gently at the sides.
The naked innocence
was radiant than a thousand suns rising over heavenly hills
and I wanted to tape it
rewind it
box it
wrap it.
This moment of joy
that he had been unaware of.
This moment of joy
that we lose as we grow older
when we start wrestling
with our innermost demons
even in our dreams at night.

 

©Malintha Perera 2015

Leave a Reply

