Shipwrecked

the moon spilled over and the night gave up
you were dreaming of gold coins inside your purse
sailing, a lone ship and the earth was flat

you were laughing in your sleep and nobody heard
sounded like a blind pirate with a rather cold curse
the moon spilled over and the night gave up

on a tree outside your window was there a little bird
it tried to wake you over and you were rather terse
sailing, a lone ship and the earth was flat

humming, the sea lulled you and you never stirred
not even when an ant bit you and made you worse
the moon spilled over and the night gave up

you kicked the cold air and there was this  word
repeated over and over in an overrun verse
sailing, a lone ship and the earth was flat

you asked for help but your vision never blurred
and you were  laughing inside a golden hearse
the moon spilled over and the night gave up
sailing, a lone ship and the earth was flat.

©Malintha Perera 2015

5 thoughts on “Shipwrecked

  1. Nice villanelle.

    In return here’s one of mine that you might enjoy. 🙂

    ALAS: A VILLANELLE

    Alas, I bring no stardust home tonight.
    The sky is overcast and all is maya,
    For I confess I see no hope in sight;

    Where once each daybreak promised fresh delight
    We only found that time had proved a liar.
    Alas, I bring no stardust home tonight.

    These poor neglected coals cast little light,
    So place another log upon the fire,
    For I confess I see no hope in sight.

    The wind is chill and bitter; hold me tight
    And stoke the fire till the flames climb higher.
    Alas, I bring no stardust home tonight.

    Let’s not apportion blame or rue what might.
    How can we but accept the trundling gyre?
    For I confess I see no hope in sight.

    In impasse let us yet remain polite;
    Offer comfort, even as our dreams expire.
    Alas, I bring no stardust home tonight,
    For I confess I see no hope in sight.

    Like

Leave a Reply

