the throng …. (a haibun)

I was at the annual international book fair. It was midafternoon and the crowd was flowing by like a restless river. The tents outside were hot and I was seated inside one of the stalls helping out my friend. It was hot and humid. The smell of books and of people weighed me down. I even picked up little things such as the drone of the fan near me, people talking, children calling out, footsteps, loud speaker overhead….. I was cornered and the sound and the smell amplified.
silence
is a silent
t h r o b

©Malintha Perera 2015

Leave a Reply

