Home

at the edge of the forest
the trees and I
eye each other.
the mist, an arch of cherry blossoms shakes its petals
as I step inside the warmth.
its splinters are soft flakes on my hair
and I’m dubious as I trace by heart
deep into its core
only for a moment
just for a moment.

I reach at last the glistening river
and I watch the silk
silently disrobing
her folds pulled down and down
by the hands of the hidden ocean.
where are my thoughts
where are my words
I’m home….
as I listen to her soft trinkets
reaching me over
and I snuggle
under her covers.

©Malintha Perera 2015

Leave a Reply

