Touch and Go

on the boundary of this sensory realm
the glinting skin of the sea scales
blinded my eyes for a moment
I wanted to dive into the decked ruffles
succumb to material bliss.

I had no signage to go in
was stripped of my sun shades I was wearing
saw the moving sharks under the surface
and the current patterned to drag me down
beckoned me with their red painted fingers.

I stepped back from the amusement
felt the freedom unchaining my lungs
the aeons of etchings bared my soul
I was fresh and felt nothing….
I was aware.

©Malintha Perera 2015

Leave a Reply

