A Morning Sitting

arms of the early dawn
carries me through trees
huddled but yet apart
standing in silent prayer

a white veil
a woven mist parts and shifts
a crack of light
a dancing flame

the shrine room
a distant heaven
smudged aglow
a lamp lit in solitude

it isn’t me
that’s walking my feet
hardly a noise
not even my heart beat

the air so dense
every step I take
slice and cut
the silence around

Buddha awaits
as always… as always…
within and within
I am ready now…

© Malintha Perera 2014

One thought on “A Morning Sitting

Leave a Reply

